writing exercise 1

March 9, 2011

If I were to die today, I’d miss your smile.  That sweet way you look at me every time… as if it was the first time we’d seen each other in a while.

I’d miss the way you say my name; the tenderness in your voice.

If I were to die today, I’d miss your morning phone call. And the afternoon phone calls… come to think of it, the night time phone calls also.

I’d miss the way you call me by that nickname I always say I hate but secretly, I love.

If I were to die today, I’d miss your hugs. And those naps we take when I am visiting with you and I lay my head on your chest to rest. I’d miss the way the smell of your skin transports me to sweet days filled with ice cream in the sun.

I’d miss the way you kiss me… your mustache tickling my face.

If I were to die today, I’d miss the way you never call and I always harass you for it. I’d miss your short messages that remind me that I am your favorite.  I’d miss how when we get together we reminisce about “back in the day.”

I’d miss watching baseball games with you.

If I were to die today, I’d miss our get-togethers.  I’d miss the way we pick up right where we left off as if not one day had passed between visits. I’d miss how hard we laugh… how we always end up crying ‘cause it hurts so good.

I’d miss your laughter.

If I were to die today, I’d miss curling up with you at night.  I’d miss how happy you always are to see me; whether I’d been gone for three months or three minutes.

I’d miss how you smell in the warmth of the morning.

If I were to die today, I’d miss being home with you.  I’d miss how we can sit in the company of each other in complete silence and still understand what we need to without saying a word.

I’d miss your hugs and the way you always encourage me.

If I were to die today, I’d miss playing dress-up with you; how we always find a way to make something funny out of whatever article of clothing is around us. I’d miss your sense of humor the most; how we can always find a way to make each other laugh no matter how stressful a situation.

I’d miss your cooking.

If I were to die today, I’d miss the way you hold me in the water; how you always make me feel as if I am flying. I’d miss the midnight snacks you make when I crave something.

I’d miss your love…

If I were to die today… I’d miss being loved.

~Sarahí Yajaira, 2011 ©

Leave a Reply

